Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands are a British Overseas Territory comprised of three islands located in the western Caribbean about 240 km south of Cuba. They lie between 19° 15′ and 19° 45′ N latitude and between 79°44 ‘ and 81° 27’ W longitude. Grand Cayman is the largest and most populous. Little Cayman lies approximately 145 km to its east-northeast and is about 10 km from Cayman Brac. The three islands are limestone, horst-and-graben structures associated with the Cayman Ridge. The fringing reefs that surround most of the islands contain shallow reef crests (rubble ramparts) as well as mid-shelf and shelf-edge fore reefs. These fringing reefs are particularly well-developed on the windward (eastern and southern) coasts of both islands. Other submerged benthic habitats include seagrass beds and mangrove fringes.